Topics On this page
|

Rehabs That Take Humana: Our Campuses Near Missouri

We don’t run a campus in Missouri that is in network with Humana. Many people travel for treatment; see every campus that takes Humana, by state, and admissions can check whether your plan covers care out of state.

Call 855-520-2898 Verify your benefits

Checked against our contract list on September 25, 2026. Plans change; admissions confirms coverage before you travel.

A carrier name is not a plan type, and with Humana that difference does real work. The rulebook depends on the product rather than the brand. A Medicare plan, a state Medicaid plan and an employer plan each run on separate rules with separate paperwork. So the first useful step is not “does Humana cover rehab” but “which Humana product am I holding”.

This page will also tell you what it is not going to do. It does not state which Humana products are on sale in Missouri this year. A claim like that needs the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, HealthCare.gov, the state’s insurance regulator or a securities filing behind it, and we did not find one we could open and read. So we are not asserting it in either direction. What we can do is set out the published rules for the products a Missouri reader is most likely to be holding, and that is more useful anyway. Our Humana Insurance Rehab Coverage page covers the carrier generally, Does Insurance Cover Rehab? covers the wider picture, and you can verify your insurance with admissions at any point.

Start With the Card, Not the Brand

Find the plan name, not just the logo. It is usually printed under the member name, and it will say something about the product: a Medicare plan name, a Medicaid plan name, or an employer group number.

Why it matters is simple. A Medicare plan is governed by Medicare’s rules and paid for through Medicare’s machinery. A Medicaid plan is governed by the state’s own program rules. An employer plan sits under federal group-health rules. The same three words, “does it cover detox”, get three different answers and three different appeal routes.

If the card does not make it obvious, the plan’s own documents will. Ask the plan for the one that sets out cost sharing and prior authorization for behavioral health, and read that rather than a summary.

One piece of context sits behind the whole question. The National Center for Health Statistics puts Missouri’s 2024 age-adjusted drug overdose death rate at 23.7 per 100,000, from 1,461 drug overdose deaths that year [1].

If someone is having a seizure, is unresponsive or has trouble breathing, call 911. For a mental health crisis, call or text 988.

If It Is a Medicare Plan: What Medicare Itself Publishes

Medicare publishes its own coverage in plain terms, and that is the firmest ground on this page.

Medicare says Part A covers mental health care services you get when you are admitted as a hospital inpatient, and that Part B covers the services you get from a doctor or other health care provider while you are in the hospital [2]. It is explicit about what is not covered, including private duty nursing, a phone or television in your room where there is a separate charge, personal items, and a private room unless it is medically necessary [2].

The amounts are published too. Medicare states what you pay for each benefit period in 2026: after a $1,736 deductible you pay nothing per day for days 1 to 60, then $434 each day for days 61 to 90, then $868 each day for days 91 to 150 while using lifetime reserve days, and all costs after day 150 [2]. It also says you pay 20% of the Medicare-approved amount for mental health services from providers while you are a hospital inpatient [2].

One limit is worth knowing before anyone chooses a setting. Medicare says that in a psychiatric hospital, rather than a general hospital, Part A pays for up to 190 days of inpatient psychiatric hospital services in your lifetime [2].

Those are Medicare’s own published figures. A particular plan sets its own cost sharing and network rules, so read them in that plan’s documents rather than assuming these numbers are yours. Our page on Medicare and rehab coverage covers the program in more depth.

Medicare’s Thresholds for PHP and IOP, and Whose Rule They Are

People are often quoted an hours-per-week figure for a day program and told it is the definition. It is a definition, but it belongs to Medicare, and saying so in the same breath as the number is the difference between useful and misleading.

Medicare’s own regulation for partial hospitalization says those programs are intended for patients who “require a minimum of 20 hours per week of therapeutic services as evidenced in their plan of care” [3]. Medicare’s parallel regulation for intensive outpatient services sets “a minimum of 9 hours per week” on the same terms [4]. Both are Medicare conditions of payment, so the hours belong to Medicare and not to every payer [3][4].

Both regulations list what the services may include, and both name individual and group therapy with mental health professionals, explicitly including substance use disorder professionals [3][4]. Both also require the patient to have a mental health or substance use disorder diagnosis, to not require 24-hour care, and to have an adequate support system while not actively in the program [3][4].

These are Medicare conditions of payment. They are a clear published benchmark for what “intensive” means, and they are not a universal rule that every payer applies. Our explainers on Levels of Care, which sets out five treatment levels, and Outpatient Rehab describe the tiers in clinical rather than billing terms.

If It Is a MO HealthNet Plan

Missouri runs its Medicaid program through the MO HealthNet Division of the Department of Social Services. The division’s own page says it offers health care coverage for eligible Missourians, and that if you do not currently have coverage through MO HealthNet, the Family Support Division can help with an application [5].

That is the door, and the state is the right body to answer eligibility questions rather than a treatment provider. Put the coverage question there, and bring the same three questions you would bring to any payer: which level of care, what needs approving first, and who sends the request. Our walkthrough of How to Get Into Rehab covers what a first call needs from you.

Checking coverage and admissions in Missouri

The Recovery Village Kansas City is our campus in Raytown, Missouri. Its own page publishes medical detox, residential rehab for substance abuse, residential rehab for mental health, dual diagnosis treatment, intensive outpatient programming, aftercare and medically-assisted treatment.

Check your coverage and admissions Verify your insurance

The Recovery Village Kansas City is part of our family of treatment centers. See the Recovery Village Kansas City campus.

What an Authorization Attaches To, Whatever the Product

Across all three rulebooks, one thing holds. Nobody approves “rehab”. An approval attaches to a named level of care, for a set number of days.

Federal treatment guidance supplies the names. The settings run from a physician’s office through freestanding treatment facilities, then intensive outpatient and partial hospitalization programs, up to acute care inpatient [6]. The same chapter describes five adult detoxification levels [6].

Treat withdrawal management as its own question rather than as the first half of one. Federal guidance says detoxification “is not substance abuse treatment and rehabilitation” [7]. So there are two requests, and the second one has to be planned while the first is still running. Ask who files it, on what day, and what happens if it is refused. Write down the name and the date. Our explainers on Medical Detox and Inpatient Rehab set out what each tier involves.

Our Missouri Campus, and What Its Own Page Publishes

The Recovery Village Kansas City is our campus in Raytown. Its own page publishes its levels of care: medical detox, residential rehab for substance abuse, residential rehab for mental health, dual diagnosis treatment, intensive outpatient programming, aftercare, and medically-assisted treatment [8]. That card list is the campus’s own, and it is what to work from.

On insurance, our contract list is the authority: neither The Recovery Village Kansas City nor the Kansas City Outpatient Center is in network with Humana. Some Humana plans pay part of the cost of out-of-network care, so ask admissions to check what yours pays, and see the campuses in other states that do take Humana.

If a different location suits better, our campuses by state show the rest of the family.

Parity, a Marketplace Plan and Paying Directly

Parity, if your plan is an employer or individual one. Under the Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act, a plan that covers mental health and substance use care may not apply harsher limits to it than it applies to medical and surgical care, and that reaches prior authorization and step therapy as well as visit and day caps [9]. The scope is worth knowing: it applies to non-federal governmental plans with more than 50 employees, to group health plans of private employers with more than 50 employees, and to the individual market [9]. Plans from small employers are not covered directly; they get comparable protection through the Affordable Care Act’s essential health benefits requirement.

A Marketplace plan. Every Marketplace plan covers mental health and substance use disorder services as an essential health benefit [10]. A plan cannot refuse or surcharge coverage for a pre-existing condition, and it cannot put yearly or lifetime dollar limits on those services [10].

Paying directly. Price each level on its own, and ask what a deposit actually secures. Our page on How Much Does Rehab Cost? sets out ranges by level of care. It names program length as the first thing that changes the price. It puts a 30-day intensive outpatient program at $3,000 to $10,000, and detox at $250 to $800 a day. Those are our own published ranges, not federal figures. Time away from work is a separate worry, and How to Go to Rehab and Keep Your Job deals with it. SAMHSA also runs FindTreatment.gov as a locator.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Humana cover rehab in Missouri?

It depends on which Humana product you hold, and this page does not state which ones are sold in Missouri this year. That is a corporate claim, and it needs a source from Medicare and Medicaid services, HealthCare.gov, the state insurance regulator or a securities filing; we did not find one we could read. Check the plan name on your card, then read that plan’s own documents.

Which Humana plan types does this page apply to?

All of them, because the page is built around the rulebook rather than the brand. If your Humana card is a Medicare plan, the Medicare sections apply. If it is a MO HealthNet plan, the Missouri section applies. If it is Humana employer or individual coverage, the parity section applies. Humana can sit behind more than one of those, which is exactly why starting with the product matters.

What does Medicare publish about inpatient mental health care costs?

Medicare states what you pay for each benefit period in 2026: after a $1,736 deductible, nothing per day for days 1 to 60, then $434 each day for days 61 to 90, then $868 each day for days 91 to 150 using lifetime reserve days, and all costs after that. It also says you pay 20% of the Medicare-approved amount for provider services during the stay.

Does a partial hospitalization program have to be 20 hours a week under Medicare?

That figure is Medicare’s own rule rather than a universal definition. Medicare’s regulation says partial hospitalization programs are intended for patients who require a minimum of 20 hours per week of therapeutic services in their plan of care, and Medicare’s parallel rule sets 9 hours for intensive outpatient services. Other payers set their own criteria, so ask the plan what it applies.

Is The Recovery Village Kansas City in network with Humana?

No. Under our current contract list, neither The Recovery Village Kansas City nor the Kansas City Outpatient Center is in network with Humana. Some Humana plans pay part of the cost of out-of-network care, and several of our campuses in other states are in network with Humana. Ask admissions to check your plan.

Sources

  1. National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Drug Overdose Mortality — Stats of the States. https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/state-stats/deaths/drug-overdose.html
  2. Medicare.gov, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Mental Health Care (Inpatient) Coverage. https://www.medicare.gov/coverage/mental-health-care-inpatient
  3. Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School. 42 CFR § 410.43 — Partial hospitalization services: Conditions and exclusions. https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/42/410.43
  4. Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School. 42 CFR § 410.44 — Intensive outpatient services: Conditions and exclusions. https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/42/410.44
  5. MO HealthNet Division, Missouri Department of Social Services. MO HealthNet Division. https://dss.mo.gov/mhd/
  6. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. (2006). Detoxification and Substance Abuse Treatment, TIP 45 — Chapter 2: Settings, Levels of Care, and Patient Placement. NCBI Bookshelf. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK64109/
  7. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. (2006). Detoxification and Substance Abuse Treatment, TIP 45 — Chapter 1: Overview, Essential Concepts, and Definitions in Detoxification. NCBI Bookshelf. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK64119/
  8. The Recovery Village Kansas City. The Recovery Village Kansas City, Raytown, Missouri — Levels of Care and Accepted Insurance. https://www.therecoveryvillage.com/locations/kansas-city/
  9. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act (MHPAEA). https://www.cms.gov/marketplace/private-health-insurance/mental-health-parity-addiction-equity
  10. HealthCare.gov. Mental Health and Substance Abuse Health Coverage Options. https://www.healthcare.gov/coverage/mental-health-substance-abuse-coverage/

This page is for general information and is not medical advice. Only a licensed clinician who knows your history can tell you what is right for you. If you or someone you know is in immediate danger, call 911. For free, confidential support 24/7, call or text 988.

Author
Kevin Wandler
Chief Medical Officer, The Recovery Village

Ready to make a change?

Get cost-effective, quality addiction care that truly works.

Start Your Recovery
We're here to help you or your loved one.
Question mark symbol icon

Who am I calling?

Calls will be answered by a qualified admissions representative with Advanced Recovery Systems (ARS), the owners of DrugRehab.com. We look forward to helping you!

Question mark symbol icon

Who am I calling?

Phone calls to treatment center listings not associated with ARS will go directly to those centers. DrugRehab.com and ARS are not responsible for those calls.

If you are experiencing a medical emergency, call 911. If you are having thoughts of suicide, call or text 988, the Suicide & Crisis Lifeline.